A Late Night Rendezvous

So, late in the evening, a few nights ago, I found myself trekking in our Chevy truck into the unknown back roads of Arkansas. With only our faithful GPS “Sally” to guide me I twisted and turned on highway, then two lane and finally gravel roads. I found my destination, exchanged money and pleasantries, and was on my way again with my “drug” of choice, joyous in my find and my adventure. My purchase? Raw milk.

I will have to examine this further, why my timid self is brave enough to meet with strangers in the dark on unknown roads to procure liquid gold but faint at the thought of a spider staying alive in the bedroom or scared that a fish will nibble my toes if I stay still too long in the lake. Hmmm…

Okay so the Arkansas trek only was late night because that was when they finished up evening milking. Now that we are in Texas it appears that late night treks are not necessary. They sell it here in broad daylight…or nearly so. There are a smattering of registered raw milk dairies that can sell at stores. The rest have to sell on the farm and there are probably some quirky rules I have yet to discover. I am still rationing the Arkansas milk for another day or so.

About Melanie Christner NTP, CGP

I am a Nutritional Therapist & GAPS Practitioner in the Green Mountains of Vermont. I help families gain back their energy, digestive health, and robust immune systems...using targeted lab testing paired with nutrient dense whole foods. Find out more at www.honestbody.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Late Night Rendezvous

  1. Brian Christner says:

    Hi Mel:

    Excellent article on Raw Milk. As the theme weaves its way into your blog you will have to continue this theme so that readers will begin to wonder why you would behave like a drug addict when it comes to your search for raw milk. This is a story, I don’t think it is necesary for you to quote studies or sources because if a person is really interested they can follow you links. The human behavior part is what is intrigueing to me.

Leave a Reply

