Grown woman claps hands and squeals with delight.

November 6, 2010

If there could be a newspaper heading for yesterday morning in the Christner trailer this would have been it. I was on the job of procuring the best of Texas in the way of farm fresh food. I was finding some finds. Raw milk, cream and butter. A plethora of grassfed beef and pastured eggs. And then I found the best find, a 6 days a week indoor Farmer’s Market called Bastrop Producer’s Market, selling everything local and organic, pecans to prickly pears. So after dropping off a content husband with his book at the laundromat, and after a back and forth down Hwy 71, the kids and I finally found it. We filled up our cart with local Medjool dates, chicken, breakfast sausage, prickly pears, cukes, tomatoes, bread, apples, Hippychic raw sauerkraut, portabella mushrooms, sprouts, granola and eggs. I was a happy woman.

A few days later we loaded up and headed south to Corpus Christi. With one detour. After scouring the RealMilk.com website I had found Strykly Texas Cheese, a Texas Certified raw milk dairy that was about 10 minutes out of the way of our route south. Schulenburg, TX to be exact. I called ahead to make sure that we could turn our travel trailer around in the driveway and my husband obligingly humored me by stopping in. I purchased 2 gallons of some of the creamiest Jersey milk I have seen, as well as cottage cheese and cheddar cheese.

The reason for this particular dairy choice (and it was a good one) was that I simply didn’t find much else in the way of raw dairy in the southern part of Texas. So, Texas, would you kindly move some more good quality dairy down there, or if you are already out there, make yourself known to your would be loyal customers? 🙂

About Melanie Christner NTP, CGP

I am a Nutritional Therapist & GAPS Practitioner in the Green Mountains of Vermont. I help families gain back their energy, digestive health, and robust immune systems...using targeted lab testing paired with nutrient dense whole foods. Find out more at www.honestbody.com
This entry was posted in Family Adventures, Food Finds, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grown woman claps hands and squeals with delight.

  1. Brian Christner says:

    Hey Mel: I can’t wait to hear the story that involves Jack’s arm. You can probably weave in some ideas about how milk will help him recover from the accident.

Leave a Reply

