Jack’s broken wrist

On my flight home from Pennsylvania there was a strong headwind causing my flight to come in late to Houston, where I was to catch my connection back to Corpus Christi. As I was missing flights and experiencing standby, Nate and I were emailing back and forth about logistics. Then I got this email:

“Hey,

Jack just fell out of a tree and I’m trying to determine if he broke his arm or not. Is he a drama queen when it comes to injury? I have it on ice right now.  Trying to find a walk-in clinic….”

This was one of those “worst case scenarios” that I had been hoping wouldn’t happen. One of the kids getting hurt while I was gone…Nate alone in a strange town…no family or friends to step in. For a time it brought up all my subconscious vulnerabilities. You know, going it alone on this “quest.”

All in all it could have been far worse, and I fortunately wasn’t too far from being home. After some delay, I got a flight and Nate and the kids picked me up a couple hours after the falling-out-of-the-tree incident and then we headed out to find help. We first went to a chiropractor who graciously took a peek at Jack’s arm gratis…we wanted to get an opinion on whether it looked like something broken or not. She referred us to a really nice doctor, who she took her own kids to, Dr. Dorrell on Padre Island.

So Jack got X-rays, showing that he had a pretty good fracture about 2 inches above his wrist. Nate and I and the doc decided that we needed to take care of it sooner rather than later, and not wait to see a pediatric orthopedic the next day. Then the hard part. Nate was looking green just thinking about the setting of Jack’s bone. So he stayed with the other kids. I had my typical travel migraine, but figured I was up to the task of being the strong parent to sit through Jack’s ordeal and comfort him. I made it through, but just barely. When the bone setting was done I was pretty woozy and had to retreat to the bathroom for a break. Poor Jack, he was a real trooper.

He is now in a real cast. We are sticking around Corpus longer so that he can have one follow up with the same doctor. We will have to find doctors along our route to check on his healing and also to take the cast off at the end.

And (this part is to humor his Uncle Brian), he will be getting lots of raw milk during his healing, because as we know, the calcium in raw milk is very bio-available because the co-nutrients in the milk that help our bodies assimilate the calcium have not been destroyed by pasteurization. 🙂

Our biggest trial is getting Jack to act like he has a broken arm and keep him from running, jumping, skidding, sliding, tumbling, wrestling and generally wreaking physical havoc on his arm.

About Melanie Christner NTP, CGP

I am a Nutritional Therapist & GAPS Practitioner in the Green Mountains of Vermont. I help families gain back their energy, digestive health, and robust immune systems...using targeted lab testing paired with nutrient dense whole foods. Find out more at www.honestbody.com
This entry was posted in Family Adventures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack’s broken wrist

  1. Brian Christner says:

    Thanks for the shout out Mel… I drink a lot of milk every day but since it is pasturized skim milk I don’t suppose it does any good besides helping to wash down all the junk I eat. I hope Jack’s are heals quickly.

    Brian

  2. Daniel Butler says:

    Wow. That is some story and I don’t envy you guys for it! We miss you very much and, Nate, I’m so proud of you for being strong… smile… things like that are just the reason I didn’t continue pursuing nursing!, (among other things…) Have a wonderful thanksgiving dear friends!

Leave a Reply

