The state of food in Corpus Christi, TX

I came into Corpus not having much hope for finding good healthy food, let alone local food. After two trips to the local HEB chain grocery store I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. While a grocery store chain is not high on my heirarchy of food value, it would have to do, because the local food in Corpus is not readily available. If you are into food chains, fried seafood, and soda machines, this is your town.

Anyway, HEB did help the food budget to stop convulsing. Here are the treasures I found – Kerrygold butter (grassfed butter from Ireland), Texas goat cheese, Texas grapefruit and oranges, an organic fruit and veggie section, sprouted grain bread, Brown Cow yogurt, kombucha (!), and even 3 lbs. of grass-fed beef nestled amongst the plethora of grain-fed meat. I left with enough groceries for a week. While not exuberant, I was satisfied.

And we didn’t even touch our grapefruit for some days as the boys discovered a grapefruit tree just a stones throw away, with awesome tasting fruit! So in the midst of corporate chain heaven we were “foraging” 🙂

Before heading to the grocery store I wrote out my first menu plan since heading out on this adventure. Even if it’s simple, a plan makes everything a bit smoother and means we eat better.

A little more raw milk foraging was done. I could have driven 1 1/2 hours one way to Victoria, TX to get goat’s milk but decided to get milk at the Miller Farm in LaCoste, TX, when we went on a day trip to San Antonio for the Alamo.

Then today, on our way to Seminole Canyon, we took a slight detour when passing through Hondo, TX, to pick up milk and eggs at the Steubing Dairy. Nice, clean, good smelling farm with healthy looking animals in the fields. I get a kick out of the adventure, some others in my family…not so much:)

About Melanie Christner NTP, CGP

I am a Nutritional Therapist & GAPS Practitioner in the Green Mountains of Vermont. I help families gain back their energy, digestive health, and robust immune systems...using targeted lab testing paired with nutrient dense whole foods. Find out more at www.honestbody.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The state of food in Corpus Christi, TX

  1. Daniel Butler says:

    Hello dear friends! I love your adventure and am thinking about you with no small degree of jealousy:) Did you take pictures of the grapefruit tree? I would love to see it… I’m glad to hear too that Corpus Christie was at least a little civilized in regards to food. I check out that link to Farmageddon, and we are looking forward (if that is the right word for our dread anticipation of the information contained in said movie:) to seeing it. We think of you often and hope that you all continue tripping and waking! We miss you deparately.

Leave a Reply

